Allstate Newsroom
Now reading
Allstate Announces the Highly Anticipated 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Roster with Help From Esteemed Voting Panel

Allstate Announces the Highly Anticipated 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Roster with Help From Esteemed Voting Panel

Elite selection of student-athletes and honorary head coach are recognized and celebrated for their unparalleled commitment to their communities

Tim Tebow and Allstate volunteers working together in a food bank.

NORTHBROOK, Ill., September 13, 2018 – Today, Allstate Insurance Company and the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) announced the 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® with help from an esteemed voting panel, including two-time national champion and former Good Works Team® member, Tim Tebow. From the 169 nominations reviewed this summer, only a select group of 22 college football players and honorary head coach are recognized with the Good Works Team® designation.

The prestigious award, which has played a prominent role in collegiate sports for more than 25 years, celebrates student-athletes and the honorary head coach for their extraordinary commitment to making a lasting impact off the field. One player has continued to pay it forward in memory of his brother by starting a nonprofit to provide immediate resources to families dealing with the painful effects of cancer, while another has planned more than 35 service projects to help restore local communities and empower young leaders.

“When asked to participate on the Good Works Team® voting panel I jumped at the chance, especially since this initiative hits so close to home for me,” said Tebow. “It is an honor to be involved in a program that embodies the dedication and determination it takes to make positive changes across our country, while inspiring current and future players to do the same.”

In addition to Tebow, who will be participating for the third year in a row, the voting panel includes: president of the Eastern Territory at Allstate Insurance Company Dave Prendergast, former Good Works Team® members Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team) and Wes Counts (Middle Tennessee State, 1999 team); media members Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN), Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star) and Paul Myerberg (USA TODAY); 2018 AFCA President and Georgetown College head coach Bill Cronin; 2001 AFCA President and current athletic director at Virginia Union University Joe Taylor.

“It goes without saying how excited we are to recognize this diverse group of student-athletes and honorary head coach for their unwavering commitment to serving others and making a difference in their communities,” said Prendergast. “Our goal for this program is to shed light on the often unnoticed and unrewarded acts of kindness off the field. Whether it’s serving as a mentor for local youth or donating time and energy to raising awareness of social issues, these young men are setting an outstanding example in the football community and beyond.”

The 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® will be invited to New Orleans to participate in a special community service project ahead of the 2019 Allstate® Sugar Bowl®, where the entire team will also be recognized on the field during a halftime presentation.

“Football programs across the country do an excellent job of giving back to their local communities and helping those in need,” AFCA Executive Director Todd Berry said. “The 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team honors those select few student-athletes and one head coach who go above and beyond in the service of others.”

The following players and honorary head coach have been named to the 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®:

Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
Clemson University – Sean Pollard
Duke University – Johnathan Lloyd
Kansas State University – Dalton Risner
Syracuse University – Kielan Whitner
University of California, Berkeley – Patrick Laird
University of Georgia – Rodrigo Blankenship
University of Nebraska – Freedom Akinmoladun
University of Notre Dame – Nic Weishar
University of Oklahoma – Caleb Kelly
University of Texas – Chase Moore
University of Wisconsin – D’Cota Dixon

Combined Divisions (FCS, II, III & NAIA)
Bemidji State University – Jared Henning
Bethel University (Minn.) – Kyle Kilgore
Butler University – Drew Bevelhimer
DePauw University – Hunter Sego
Drake University – Nathan Clayberg
Macalester College – Ethan Levin
Morningside College – Trent Solsma
North Carolina Central University – Nick Leverett
North Dakota State University – Easton Stick
Saint John’s University (Minn.) – Jackson Erdmann
Southwest Minnesota State University – Jon Dicke

Honorary Head Coach
Washington University in St. Louis – Larry Kindbom

Fans are encouraged to visit to vote for the 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain now through Nov. 23, 2018. The Team Captain will be honored at this season’s The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

Throughout the season, fans can follow along and join in on the conversation by using #GoodWorksTeam on their social media channels.

About the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®
The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® was established in 1992 by the College Football Association, recognizing the extra efforts made by college football players and student support staff off the field.  AFCA became the governing body of the award in 1997 and continues to honor college football players who go the extra mile for those in need.  Allstate worked to present the award starting with the 2008 season.

The SEC leads all conferences with 72 selections to the Good Works Team® since it began in 1992. The SEC is followed by the Atlantic Coast Conference with 40 selections and the Big 12 Conference with 33 selections. Georgia is in first place with 19 honorees to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®. The Bulldogs are followed by Nebraska with 15 honorees. Super Bowl XLII, XLVI and XLI champion quarterbacks Eli and Peyton Manning were members of the 2002 and 1997 Good Works Teams®, respectively.

About AFCA
The AFCA was founded in 1922 and currently has more than 11,000 members around the world ranging from the high school level to the professional ranks. According to its constitution, the AFCA was formed, in part, to “maintain the highest possible standards in football and in the coaching profession” and to “provide a forum for the discussion and study of all matters pertaining to football.”

# # #